“Surprised To Be Loved”

Have you ever known someone who you thought had it all together and then all of a sudden you find something out about them that pretty much crushes your view of them? Most likely your answer is yes, if it isn’t, just wait….it’ll happen to you sooner or later. Not trying to be pessimistic or anything, but I’ve learned that people are not perfect and they never will be. People will let you down, they will dash your your hopes and dreams, and at times they will simply desert you. Once again, this was not intended to be discouraging or depressing, but encouraging and full of hope because we have a God who is the exact opposite of us as humans. HE is perfect, HE is full of hope and love, HE will never ever leave us, HE will correct us, but HE does it in love! How amazing is the Lord!?!?! I was reading in 2 Samuel the other day and I ran across two passages that I want to chat a bit about. Both of these passages are a prayer to God by David. 2 Samuel 22:17-20, “But he caught me – reached all the way from sky to sea; he pulled me out of that ocean of hate, that enemy chaos, the void in which I was drowning. They hit me when I was down, but God stuck by me. He stood me up on a wide – open field; I stood there saved – surprised to be loved!” Now, did you catch that last part…”surprised to be loved!”? WOW! Those four words should be the exclamation of every Christian. To be honest, I know Jesus loves me…but I don’t always know why. But…I am SURPRISED TO BE LOVED! I mess up every day, I somehow always figure out a way to mess up what the Lord has in store for me on a day-to-day basis. Part of my human nature, I guess. (Something the Lord and I are working on!) :) In spite of everything I do, in spite of everything you do, HE still loves us! Man, that is so awesome :) Keep in mind, that this was David, the man after God’s own heart, talking here. He is praying to God and he is being so completely honest with HIM (which is all God wants us to do). If David is surprised to be loved, then I have so much more reason to be. The second passage of this same prayer that caught my attention is 2 Samuel 22:21-25, “God made my life complete when I placed all the pieces before him. When I cleaned up my act, he gave me a fresh start. Indeed, I’ve kept alert to God’s ways; I haven’t taken God for granted. Every day I review the ways he works, I try not to miss a trick. I feel put back together, and I’m watching my step. God rewrote the text of my life when I opened the book of my heart to his eyes.” …When I opened the book of my heart to his eyes….wow. David really knew what he was talking about when it came to his testimony as a Christian. This prayer is a prayer coming from a man who is totally in love with God. When you’re in love with somebody, you watch what they do, you want to be with them, you don’t want to miss a single thing that they may do. David talks about God in a way that I am fighting hard to do the same. Yes, I said it’s a fight. Love is not easy, no matter who it is you love. So many things bombard me and try to fight for my time, energy, and love. Honestly, it’s tough trying to make sure that God comes first and I hate to admit that I don’t always win the fight. (That sounds totally anti-church talking, but I’m not trying for churchy talk, but I’m simply trying to be real and honest.) Once again, I am totally surprised to be loved by the creator of the universe, by the God of the world, by the God who not only is my heavenly father, but who also is my best friend. Thank you, Lord, for not giving up on me (even when I am ready to give up on myself). Thank you, God, for loving me even when I am unlovable. Thank you, Abba Father, for sticking with me through it all. So, I encourage us (as Christians) to fall in love with the King of Majesty once more. Fall in love with the One who desires to spend every day – – all day with us. Fall in love with the One who first loved us. Open the book of your heart to the eyes of your father in heaven who loves you more than you will ever know. Let him re-write your story….you’ll be surprised at where He will take you and what He will do through and in you in this little adventure called life! :) 

About Christianna

Just an ordinary person trying to live each day like it's her last...with love, hope, and faith. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

