For Just One Day….(Plus update on prayer request)….

Hey there.

First off, thank you so much to all who prayed regarding my last post. Thank you to @radiantramblings for leaving the comment letting me know you were praying. My brother-in-law’s brother is back home safe and sound. Miraculously, he had no physical injuries. I say miraculously because we found out he had just changed shifts and had just left the part of the boat that went up in flames first. God is on the throne. I do ask, if you have a little extra time during your prayer times to remember him as he is now attempting to heal emotionally. He was extremely shaken up (as if anyone wouldn’t be) and plus the eleven that they called off the search for weren’t just eleven people…they were his friends, his co-workers. So, thank you so much for praying and please if you don’t mind continue to pray for his healing and salvation as well as all the people who were involved (including the families of those eleven). They have to go hand-in-hand, because this type of healing only comes through knowing the Almighty Healer.

So, anyway, this week has been rough. First the above incident, and then at one ‘o clock this morning I got a call from the nursing home saying my grandpa had passed away. It’s been rough, friends, just plain rough. My grandpa was the only grandpa I knew (my mom’s dad passed away before I was born), he was interesting to say the least. :) So, as I got the news this morning….I broke. Something deep inside of me just broke. Tears began to flow, thoughts began to seep into my mind, and my heart just began to break. A million thoughts just began to flood my mind. Is he in heaven, why didn’t I send him that letter, why didn’t I talk to him on the phone last Sunday? Why, why, why? I admit it, I felt guilty. I felt guilty that I hadn’t sent him that joke book I had wanted to, I felt guilty for not talking about the weather with him last Sunday on the phone, I just felt guilty for not being able to say goodbye one last time. I cried, I groaned, I even yelled. But, then throughout it all….I began to realize that it was okay. Why? Because my grandpa had told us that he had said the sinner’s prayer and he was going to heaven (he even said heaven was going to have a Harley for him. I told you he was interesting :)). Granted, saying the sinner’s prayer doesn’t get you to heaven, but I believe my Grandpa believed in God and accepted Him as his Lord and Savior. And that does get you to heaven. (If you don’t believe me, I can recommend some verses for you to read on the subject.) Just knowing that didn’t make it hurt any less, it didn’t even make the tears stop, but it did make it seem okay. He wasn’t in pain anymore, he wasn’t having to breathe with an oxygen tank, he wasn’t being pumped full of steroids anymore. In fact, maybe he is even riding that Harley on the streets of gold right now. :) I don’t know, friends, but what I do know is that God is faithful, merciful, and loving. God takes away the guilt that the Enemy tried to fill me with. Even as the tears are falling on my keyboard right now, God IS faithful. The Holy Spirit is the Almighty Comforter and He is comforting me…even when I don’t necessarily feel Him…He’s there. Thank you Jesus, You’re here.

I’m sorry if this post comes off a bit depressing, I don’t mean it to be…I hope that somehow this inspires hope inside of you that there is a better place other than this temporary home we call the Earth. We aren’t citizens here, friends. Our citizenship lies elsewhere. Actually, it lies in one of two places….Heaven or Hell….I know where mine lies….do you? If you don’t, then this post may have inspired fear and caused you to be uncomfortable….I know Someone who can fix that. His name is Jesus, and He loves you with a unquenchable passion, friend. He loves YOU. Before we ever knew we needed Him, He loved US. If you don’t know Him, please seek Him. It says in His word that when we draw near to Him, He draws near to us (James 4:8). One step on your part is really two. Please find someone who know this Jesus, someone who really knows Jesus, and talk to them and ask them for help. If you don’t have anyone in your life who knows Jesus, please contact me. Don’t miss this opportunity to be certain of where your home really is after this life is over. Please.

I’m sorry if I come off too insistent. No, I’m not sorry. My grandpa passing away has shaken me up. It’s shaken my Spirit up and made my heart, not just my head, realize that time is short. We don’t know the hours of our lives. We don’t know when we will breathe our last breath, so don’t put it off. Don’t tell yourself “tomorrow”….we are not guaranteed tomorrow. This morning as I got the news and I was dealing with the guilt, Jeremy Lister’s song “Just One Day” came to mind ::

“What you do, what would you say?

If everyone you loved came back for just one day.”

Don’t wait for that one day. Do it now. Say it now. Love those around you now. You may not have that one day later on.

Ciao.

p.s.

Prior to these last couple of days, God has really been teaching me a wheelbarrow full of stuff, and I’m currently trying to connect the dots on a post concerning some of it, so look for it within the next few days.

About Christianna

Just an ordinary person trying to live each day like it's her last...with love, hope, and faith. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Faith, Family, Lalalala....life. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For Just One Day….(Plus update on prayer request)….

  1. methodus says:

    i’m glad that your relative is ok. that said, i have greatly enjoyed reading through your post.

  2. Christianna says:

    Thank you for your comment! And thank you for reading…I appreciate it. I hope you’ll check back for new posts!

Leave a Reply

