It’s About More Than Just Touchdowns….

Hey there,

Well, I thought I would do a little bit of writing today since I can’t do much else right now. I had my tonsils and adenoids out and whew…my throat is SO sore! The day of my surgery I came home and watched almost a whole season of Reba, and today I’ve been reading a lot of books. I think I’ve finished three pretty thick books today? And yeah, just for the record…I’m SO over jello, ice cream, and Ramen. :) So, yeah, it’s been interesting to say the least. I don’t know exactly where I’m going with this post…I want to write something meaningful and significant, but nothing is really coming to me. I suppose the pain meds are affecting my thinking skills? (at least that’s what I’m going to claim). So, if you find any typos or sentences that don’t make any sense (which is a distinct possibility), let’s just blame it on the meds, ok?! ;)

So, yes, I’ve been reading a lot. Benefits of not being able to talk, function, or work, I guess. I’ve read some pretty good fiction books and then I’ve been delving even more into my Bible. I’m currently focusing on some of Paul’s writings and I just finished 1 Corinthians, but there’s one particular verse that I want to chat a bit about. Man, Paul is real. He is hardcore, up-in-your-face, REAL. I suppose that’s why I keep coming back to these sections of the Bible more and more. I love people who are real. People who are “this is the way it is…deal with it.” The book of James is like that as well, and I’ve read those passages so many times, but it still resonates with me. I suppose that’s because God’s Word IS living and active, right?! Anyway, back to that verse in 1 Corinthians…it’s 15:19. “And if our hope in Christ is only for this life, we are more to be pitied than anyone in the world.” I encourage you to read the whole passage to really get the full impact, but for time’s sake I’m going to be brief and just discuss this verse. As I was reading this passage, this verse just JUMPED out to me. I suppose it correlates with the other lessons I’ve been learning and the situations that I’ve been encountering in this season in my life. What am I living for? What are my actions worth in the eternal perspective? If I am only serving God with this life in mind…according to Paul….I’m to be more pitied than anyone else in the world. Wow. Am I living for my true home? Or am I enjoying this temporary life just a bit too much? Am I getting a little too comfortable with where I’m at? Or am I continually striving to accomplish and be a part of something that has eternal impact?

Perhaps this doesn’t hit home with you, maybe it’s just me? But I know it did hit home with me especially considering my career choice/ambition. I know God has called me to be involved in politics. I know. But knowing doesn’t always mean that you still don’t have doubts. I wish it did. I find myself wondering if working in politics is really doing something that has eternal value? Am I making an eternal difference? I’ve come to the conclusion that in politics (but I think you can apply this to pretty much anything) it can go both ways, depending on your motives. If my goal in politics is to get to the top and JUST to have my candidate win…then I’ve failed in my Christian walk and the call on my life. I.Have.Failed.

BUT, if my goal is make an impact on people’s lives and to show Christ’s love and joy through the elections that I win AND the ones I lose…then maybe, just maybe, I’ve started to catch the dream, the vision, that God is speaking into my heart. If my goal is to show people the undying hope that I have…the undying eternal hope…than maybe I’ve accomplished something with some kind of eternal worth? It’s about people. Not about numbers, elections, Democrats, Republicans, Healthcare, etc….it’s ALL about people. It’s about souls, hearts, minds. All the other stuff is just the extras that you have to navigate through or the extras that enable you to be in this position. Extras that can quickly become priorities if you lose your focus. There’s a battle, friends. A battle for hearts, minds, and souls…and WE (as Christians) are called to be on the front lines, fighting for those who can’t fight for themselves. This is simple stuff, friends. I don’t claim to have a plethora of understanding when it comes to all this…but as simple as it may be….I still struggle with it. But, I suppose the plus side of me still struggling with it…it realizing that. Realizing that I don’t have it all together, that I still need to be reminded of going back to square one with God sometimes. Like I said, my thoughts are simple and I believe they can be applied to more than just politics. This concept of eternal perspective can be applied to anything…politics, teaching, football. Yes, I said football. If your goal is just to score touchdowns instead of making a difference in people’s lives…you need to re-think your perspective. Touchdowns are simply the “extras” that give you the platform and the opportunity to make a difference. Am I making sense, friends? I hope so, I really do.

Hmmm. It’s funny how God can quicken a verse to your heart that makes you rethink your whole life and purpose. I suppose that’s how He molds and creates us into something beautiful all from these dirty ashes. I have a way to go, that’s for sure, but thankfully my Potter is the patient, loving, jealous, God of the universe. My Savior. :)

Well, I hope you are having a wonderful start to this week, friends. I hope you are continually asking God to renew an eternal perspective within your hearts as you go about your day-to-day activities. Life is about more than just touchdowns…it’s about everything that happens in between…everything that is worth something in eternity….even on these seemingly ordinary days. :)

p.s. – You may have noticed I did some revamping of my blog, some spring cleaning of sorts…whadyathink? :)

About Christianna

Just an ordinary person trying to live each day like it's her last...with love, hope, and faith. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Faith, Lalalala....life. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

