The Perfect Husband…(Week One of Our Series)…

Hello All,

Sorry for posting the first post of this series so late in the day…things were a bit crazy today. After I got off work, I watched my nephew this afternoon unexpectedly (which was a joy!), got asked to lead worship tonight (also unexpectedly!), and had practice with my Creativity Team…so yeah crazy, but good. So, hey, better late in the day posting than not at all, right?

So, this Wednesday marks the first week in our series which is going to be based on Nancy Leigh DeMoss’ book, Voices of the True Woman Movement – A Call to the Counter-Revolution. So, the title sounds good, so I’m expecting some great stuff out of this book. This book is mainly written by Nancy, but there are some other contributors on some of the other chapters. We’re going to start with chapter one which was written by John Piper. Now, I don’t necessarily agree with everything in this first chapter, but there are some awesome points made here as well!

The first chapter is titled “The Ultimate Meaning of True Womanhood” and John Piper begins talking about true womanhood through a biblical approach rather than the approach the world throws at people. He also mentions ladies who exemplify the “true womanhood.” Among some of those women were Marie Durant who was fourteen years old and in the 17th century she was arrested for being a Protestant and she was told to say “I abjure” in order to be released. Instead, she wrote on her cell wall “Resist” and stayed in prison until she died, thirty-eight years later. Two other ladies mentioned are Gladys and Esther Staines. Gladys lost her husband (Esther was their daughter) and her two sons because they were burned alive by the people of India that they had been ministering to for thirty-four years. Her statement, “I have only one message for the people of India. I’m not bitter. Neither am I angry. Let us burn hatred and spread the flame of Christ’s love.” Her thirteen-year-old daughter, Esther, responded with this, “I praise the Lord that He found my father worthy to die for Him.” Wow. Gladys’ statement about not being bitter really hit me hard. I mean here is a woman who lost her husband and sons through brutal murder by the people they had poured into for over three decades. And yet, we stay bitter when someone takes our parking spot or cuts us off in traffic. Made me think about my actions that’s for sure.

He goes on to tell a few more accounts of women who were strong, brave, and just weren’t wimpy! Which leads into another statement he makes that was pretty awesome. “Wimpy theology does not give a woman a God that is big enough, strong enough, wise enough, and good enough to handle the realities of life in a way that magnifies the infinite worth of Jesus Christ.” Hmmm. This is so true. If we don’t teach AND believe that God is big enough for EVERY detail of our lives….then we are setting ourselves and others up for failure.

The next part of the chapter goes on to talk about how our purpose and all of creation’s purpose is to glorify God. That’s what we created for…to display the glory of Christ. He continues to talk about this for the next few paragraphs and then he breaks it down for those who are married and those who are single. What does true womanhood mean for those who are married and what does it mean for those who are single? I’m not married, but I still went over that part and I found two great definitions of headship and submission in relation to marriage. “Headship is the divine calling of a husband to take primary responsibility for Christ-like, servant leadership, protection, and provision in the home. Submission is the divine calling of a wife to honor and affirm her husband’s leadership and help carry it through according to her gifts.” I especially love the definition of submission.

Anyway, the part of the single word that really struck a chord with me was the statement that, “Single womanhood, content to walk with Christ, is a great witness that He is a better husband than any man, and in the end, will be the only husband in the universe.” LOVE that statement. And it is something that God is teaching me throughout this pre-marriage time in my life. “Content to walk with Christ.” Mmmm. Just that is a witness about how great a husband God can be if you let him. He is always there, always ready to talk and listen, and He is the PERFECT husband. :) A friend of mine actually posted on his facebook the other day something similar to developing a LOVE and not just head relationship with God. “You know I wonder, Jesus never lets us down, supportive of us reaching our goals that he gives us to complete the desire of true servitude to him, and on top of that, loves us. Why aren’t we dating him?” More importantly why aren’t we married to Him?!

In Hosea 2: 14-20, it talks about God betrothing his Beloved and making Himself her husband:

Therefore I am now going to allure her;

I will lead her into the desert

and speak tenderly to her.

15There I will give her back her vineyards,

and will make the Valley of Achora a door of hope.

There she will sing as in the days of her youth,

as in the day she came up out of Egypt.

16“In that day,” declares the Lord,

you will call me ‘my husband’;

you will no longer call me ‘my master.’

17I will remove the names of the Baals from her lips;

no longer will their names be invoked.

18In that day I will make a covenant for them

with the beasts of the field and the birds of the air

and the creatures that move along the ground.

Bow and sword and battle

I will abolish from the land,

so that all may lie down in safety.

19I will betroth you to me forever;

I will betroth you ind righteousness and justice,

in love and compassion.

20I will betroth you in faithfulness,

and you will acknowledge the Lord.

So, all in all, this chapter was pretty good. There were certain parts that really resonated with me….things I will allow to develop my relationship with Christ even further. I am learning to rely on my Husband (GOD) and to be content in walking with Him everyday. I am learning to allow God to be my perfect husband. God wants to romance us…but we have to let Him.

Hope you have a wonderful rest of the week, and don’t forget to check back next Wednesday for chapter 2 (hopefully I’ll post other stuff later this week.). Have a great rest of the night, friends. :)

About Christianna

Just an ordinary person trying to live each day like it's her last...with love, hope, and faith. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Faith, Family, Friends, Lalalala....life. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

