Sweet Words and Random Confirmation…

Hey all!

Sorry I’ve been out of the “blog world” the last several weeks, things have been insane. Like really…insane. I got back from my wonderful trip to Mexico (I’m going to include a few photos at the end) and it seemed as if life just hit the accelerator and never let up. Never. I’ve started back at college as of three weeks ago and yeah, it’s crazy. I’m taking 21 hours and it is the most reading/writing that I’ve ever done so far in college. You seriously have no idea. So, I’ve been running on 3 hours of sleep, lots of caffeine, and granola bars. Granola bars are my new friends. :) So, yeah 21 hours, working at my accounting job for another 25 odd hours, then I also started tutoring this semester too, which accounts for another 12 hours per week. Not to mention all the homework…who’s bright idea was homework anyway? So, yeah…please don’t get me wrong…I’m not complaining, just explaining my absence. :)

Don’t you just love it when God puts someone in your path that just totally says the right thing at the right time? I do. I.love.it. A couple of weeks ago, some sweet friends of mine tied the knot and after the ceremony, I was talking with my old pastor (he is awesome!) and out-of-the-blue he said this to me “This preparation time (referencing school) is building a foundation, but the foundation does not determine your future.” That so hit home with me. You see, if you’ve read some of my former blog posts, I often find myself doubting my degree choice. It was Journalism when I first started, then they cancelled that, so I changed to Sociology, then they cancelled that in July, so I finally decided (a week before school starts) to change to Social Work. Thankfully, I didn’t lose any hours so I will still graduate on time (Praise God!) and I will actually have a Master’s in an additional year after I get my bachelor’s. It all worked out pretty well, but anyway back to the sweet words of my Pastor. I was wondering if this degree choice was really what I wanted to do with my life. Then he said, “it doesn’t determine your future”…and it rocked my world. God does have me here at school preparing and laying a foundation for my future, but that foundation does not determine where that future may be. That took a huge weight off my shoulders. I can’t really explain it.

Then, today…my social work professor (who is super tough, but really good) told me out-of-the-blue that I have the heart of a social worker. She doesn’t give out compliments easily and she doesn’t even know me. But she said it twice. Wow. The last few days, once again I had been doubting this degree choice and was wondering if this was really where God wanted me. And then she said that. Thanks God!

So, yeah I’m super busy and not really loving all this homework, but there’s a new sense of excitement in my heart now…because I know that this is where God wants me. I got my confirmation. :)

Anyway, hope all has been well with you friends…feel free to drop me a note telling me what’s new in your life! I promise I will be writing a lot more, now that I have a somewhat schedule down in life. :) Here are a few pics from my 2nd trip to Mexico!

Isn't this beautiful? It's the biggest waterfall I have EVER seen.

And we went ice skating :)

People have a weddings, quince's, and so much more here.

Look at this view!

Whoa! Isn't God an awesome Creator?!

Monterrey at dusk. :)

One of the "famous" mountains!

Have a great rest of the week and weekend! :)

About Christianna

Just an ordinary person trying to live each day like it's her last...with love, hope, and faith. :)
This entry was posted in Christianity, College, Faith, Family, Friends, Lalalala....life., Life, Mexico and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

