Talain Rayne.

So glad to hear that you guys enjoyed last week’s interview! As promised, here’s the next interview with the extremely talented and awesome ::

Talain Rayne


1. Who would you compare your sound to?

I’d like to think my sound has hints of Coldplay, maybe a little bit of The Frames, or as most of the world knows them as Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova, and then of course hints of The Fray and MSTRKRFT.

2. Where does your songwriting process start?

It starts at the piano, but here and there a lyric that pops in my head will be the spark of the song.

3. Do you like writing solo or with others better?

Well I do enjoy writing with people, its always great to be writing a song with someone where you both know that “ah something could happen with this song!” Meg and I had that moment while we were writing “Dear Sister, Your Brother”. But Of course writing solo has its perks :)

4. Where do a lot of your songs come from? (i.e. personal experiences, friends, experiences, etc)

Most of my songs come through personal experiences, many of them being more than your every day story. Some are about friends, and others are even deeper than that.

5.  How/when did you get into music?

I have been “into” since as long as i can remember. As a kid, i used to make my own mix tape radio shows. I would pretend to be the Disk Jockey/DJ, and then i would record songs off the radio. I had no idea it would lead me to actually make music that would one day hit the radio waves.

6. Who/what are some of your biggest influences?

There are many, but here are the albums that really impacted me through out my life and helped mold and shape me into the artist that i am today.

Artis/band                    ALBUM

Ben Folds –  Rockin the Suburbs

Coldplay – Every Album

The Rocket Summer – Calendar days

Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

MSTRKRFT – The Looks/REMIX’

Distillers – Coral Fang

Sigur Ros –  TAKK…

Idlewild – The remote part

LOVEDRUG – Pretend your alive

The New Radicals – Cant Get Enough

Shiny Toy Guns – We Are Pilots

OZMA- Spending time on the border line

Postal Service – Give Up

Everclear – Songs from an American Movie

The Juliana Theory – Emotion is dead

Copeland – Beneath the Medicine Tree

Sleeping at last – Keep No score

The Swell Season – Strict Joy

Needtobreath – The Heat

Mae – The Everglow

Hot Chip – The Warning

The Strokes – Is this it?

Death Cab for Cutie – Transatlanticism

CAKE – Comfort Eagle

Jack’s Mannequin – Everything in Transit

Something Corporate – NORTH

Mewithoutyou -Catch for us the Fox’s

Semisonic – Feeling Strangely Fine

Nick Drake – Pink Moon

The Get up Kids – Eudora

Aqua -Aquarium

Ray Charles – Atlantic soul classics

Block Party – Silent Alarm

JOHN WILLIAMS – E.T. Extra terrestrial / The Goonies

Jimmy Eat World – Bleed America

Billy Talent – “Self titled album”

7. If you had to pick, which of your songs is your favorite and why?

First of all, I love all the songs that I write. All the songs hold different meanings, and I don’t think i could ever “pick” a favorite. But I will say that “Dear Sister, your Brother” was one of the funnest songs to record.

8. When you’re not performing/writing music, what do you like to do?

I love to cook.

Hold my cat Ava.

Beat my Old man in a game of Squash

Drive and listen to music as loud as the car will allow.

Make mini movies

Go on adventures with “Samuel”

Hang at Camp Sandy Cove

Play a sweet game of soccer in my short shorts

Internet Dates with Brook and Tim

Plotting my Plan to owning a ZOO when i am Old.

Eat Nutella on toast

Bike In Vally Forge

Be like my mom……….natural

Make my father proud.

Laugh with my sister…….A lot

9.  Who is your biggest inspiration to succeed in this industry?

Probably my mother and father.

Yea i know, Cliche. But for real. My mother is a machine of Seismic Talent and an inspiration in her work ethic and art. My father is one of my best friends, and one of my biggest supporters. Pretty sure he buys 10 CD’s from me every week :)

10.What is the best thing about being an artist?

Answering interviews like this. Talking to people that are moved by the music. Seeing it on peoples IPODS. Recording with Jon Castelli. Playing With Jonny Kapps & Matt Rullo. Emailing my manager 80 times a day.

11.What is the worst thing about being an artist?

Not Recording with Jon Castelli, Not Playing with Jonny Kapps & Matt Rullo. Being Very very very very Poor.

12. What is the number one thing you hope people get out of your music?

I just hope they “get it?”. Its my “Freshmen” Album. This is the start to I hope something remarkable. I hope that people can relate. Some of these stories are deep.

13.Who are you listening to on your ipod right now (or walkman, CD player, record player or whatever your poison is)?

Iron and Wine – Your fake name is good enough

14.What is your favorite television show/movie?

Television Show would have to be The Big Bang Theory.

Movies would have to be; E.T., The Goonies, Back to the future(ALL)

15.Who would you trade lives with for a day?

16.What city is your favorite place that you have lived/visited?

Philly! and Martha’s Vineyard (Vineyard Haven)

17. Tea or Coffee?

Hmmm Coffee. But I do like the store Teavana

18.Besides music, do you have any other extraordinary talents? (it can be as serious or crazy as you want to confess ;) )

I’m a pretty sweet underwater basket weaver. I enter myself in the Left handed smoke shifter competition about once every year.

I am a cook

I’m a photographer

I edit videos

19.Who is your favorite author/book?

My Uncle Rand Attaway

20. Give us a quote, by you or anyone else, just something that seems to stick with you.

“You don’t have to play by there rules if you don’t require there rewards.” Nathan Johnston

1 Peter 2:11(Really read the words of this one, so good)

Beloved, I urge you as sojourners and exiles to abstain from the passions of the flesh, which wagewar against your soul.

Hebrews 13:5 (he’s always there, even when we forget)

I will NEVER ever Leave you.

21.If you could send a message to your fans/future fans, what would you want them to know?

If there is one thing i could tell my future fans is continue to reach out to me, and keep listening. And watch this video.

So, yeah, Talain Rayne is pretty talented. His sound is unique, yet familiar at the same time…pretty cool…don’t ask me to explain…just like it. :) Special thanks to Talain for taking the time to be part of our series! Check out his website,”like” him on facebook, say “hi” on twitter, and definitely get his music on itunes!

Thanks again Talain!

About Christianna

Just an ordinary person trying to live each day like it's her last...with love, hope, and faith. :)
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Interviews, Lalalala....life., Life, Music, Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

