Parenthood.

I love my parents.

I’m 100% a “daddy’s girl.” He’s someone I can go to about anything and he is a constant supporter of anything I want to do. My pastor told me something he did with his children when they were growing up called a “free zone.” When he would sense something was going on with his three boys, he would tell them that he was going to give them a 60 second “free zone” in which they could tell him anything and not worry about getting in trouble. My dad is my 24-7 free zone. I mean sure, when I was younger if I did something really wrong then I would get in trouble, but I still felt free to tell him anything without fear. He and I have the same sense of humor (we’re both fluent in sarcasm), love music, and have the same sort of personality. He would do anything for me and he even watches “chick flicks” with me. :) He’s someone who I call just to talk to and let him know what’s going on in my life. Now as I’ve gotten older and become an adult, my dad has really become one of my best friends. He’s the best dad ever.

On the other hand, my mom and I don’t have a great relationship. I love her, but I can’t say she’s my best friend. She and I just don’t click. We can barely be in the same room without getting into an argument, sometimes trivial, other times major arguments. I love the show Gilmore Girls. I love the relationship the mother and daughter have. It’s something I wish I had with my mom, but I don’t. I’m the youngest of four kids, two girls and two boys. My sister is the oldest and she has that kind of relationship with my mom. Most of my girlfriends are all best friends with their mom. The lack of that kind of relationship is something that really used to hurt, to be honest it still does a little. But I’ve come to the realization that it’s never going to happen so I’ll just have to settle with having a mom/daughter relationship and not a friendship. This isn’t trying to bash her at all, she’s a great mom…she raised four awesome kids (okay, I’m a bit partial), homeschooled all of us, and still managed to take care of the majority of the household duties while my dad was working. This is just an honest post – one that is a tribute to the amazing best friend I call my dad and a tribute to my mother who did a great job of instilling values and educating me.

Both of my parents have given me different views and different experiences that I will take with me when I have children. My dad has taught me to always listen to your children, believe in them, and make them feel like they are the most important people in your world. My mom has taught me the importance of instilling values and integrity. Both sides are vital to raising great kids, I mean look at my siblings and I, could we get any better?! JUST KIDDING!!!! (sort of) ;) My parents aren’t perfect and I know I won’t be either. I do know that I’m going to try and have a friendship with my children, WHILE still being their parent. Working at a daycare, I’ve seen too many parents take the extreme route with being there friend and other parents take the extreme route of being too much of an authoritarian. My goal is to find that balance. I know parenting is WAY easier said than done. I don’t pretend that I’m going to be supermom and amazing all the time. It’s going to be hard and there will be times that I will utterly fail at attaining that balance, but my hope is to one day raise great children that have a mom and a dad they respect, who are their biggest fans, and who will one day be their friends as well.

About Christianna

Just an ordinary person trying to live each day like it's her last...with love, hope, and faith. :)
This entry was posted in Family, Inspiration, Lalalala....life., Lessons, Life, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

